Hubs and Cones

My front wheel was vibrating a bit and any time you feel an unusual vibration or noise on a bicycle it's a good idea to stop and take a look. (This is one reason I like my bicycle to be silent.)

Turns out there was some additional friction in my front hub caused by a pitted cone. Larry, from whom I bought my bicycle, offers free wheel service for wheels built by him. He replaced my cone for free.

As I'm nearing (over?) 1,500 miles, I suspect more and more things will be wearing out, though pits in the cones could have been from a manufacturing defect or bad assembly or adjustment. For a car 3,000 means just an oil change, for a bicycle at 6,000 it might mean an overhaul.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About eliasross

Blogging before the word "blog" was invented.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Hubs and Cones

  1. aaronb says:

    I feel your pain. I was just told recently that the components I'm riding were meant for about 20 miles a week, not 20+ miles per ride. They still work ok, but the bottom bracket groans when I really pedal hard. That's pretty cool of that dude to replace the cone for you. Thanks for that link to the maintenance schedule. I've just been doing things here and there when I think about it. It might not be a bad idea for me to print that out and tack it up in my garage.

  2. genman says:

    I linked to that list to give some idea of what might be required for maintenance, though I would take those recommendations with a grain of salt. First of all, everyone's bicycle and riding conditions are different. Those who ride hills wear things out faster than those who ride flats. Water, ambient temperature, body weight, UV radiation, lubrication are all wear factors. Or so I understand.The nice thing about buying locally, and from the shop owner himself, is you always get full attention, though I feel sort of bad for taking up 20 minutes of his day and probably $4-5 in parts on something he doesn't get paid for. On the other hand, his prices are fairly high and the wheels were under warranty so it does seem fair.

Leave a Reply

