You Frame It

Today, I walked into a frame shop called U-Frame It and forked over $400 for some custom framing for four pieces. Ranging from matted with anti-glare, anti-UV glass down to some less expensive choices I really got a variety of work done.

Well not done, but at least paid for. I'll be going back to the store in a few weeks to assemble the art with the frames, glass, backing, etc.

One piece I got for my birthday (five months ago) and will have finally above my work desk. The print was by James Hardman. I visited his gallery on Orcas Island, in the tiny hamlet of Olga, with my family back in springtime. As a Mother's Day gift, we traveled together to Orcas Island and stayed in Eastsound, and when we weren't bicycling, ate meals together. The gallery there has a restaurant where we had brunch. So, since Hitomi and I seemed found of this artist, for my birthday Tim and Mom bought me a print of his.

The frames James Hardman had for his work were a little too decorative and distracting. Tim and Mom bought the print unframed, thinking that I could find a more suitable frame. What I picked out was a fairly plain black frame with a warm gray mat.

The second piece of art was a sumi-e work by some Japanese artist and purchased a few years back when Hitomi traveled to Japan on her own. It's original art done in color inks with a brush, not a print, but essentially mass-produced by, I guess, working fast, so that the product cost is low. I picked out a gold frame, with no mat, with kind of a rustic speckled texture.

The third piece Hitomi and I picked up from an artist at Anime Expo, basically from some artist in an artist group that does hip, pop-culture work. Think cute and violent. The art, a print, was printed on an adhesive sticker (plastic) and so the thought was to hang it possible the bathroom. As plastic, it probably is impervious to moisture. The manager and I had a difficult time finding an appropriate mounting technique. Eventually, we settled on sticking it on a foam board, cutting it, then framing the foam board. But the artist at Anime Expo had it applied to a canvas board directly as a sticker, but then the shop manager didn't think that would be very clean.

The last work I waited before the kids left the store to whip out. I got a number of comics in Japan, one ero comic was sold at Tachibana Shoten with a poster. Essentially, the themes of the comic are: moe', girls with glasses, and girls with short hair. Plus, the usual copious amounts of body fluids. The poster is essentially of the manga cover done in a tall, narrow format.

The manager was an old guy who acted very serious and detached, so I wasn't sure how he'd react to it. He helpfully explained how he was accustomed to seeing X-rated Japanese posters. I'm not sure what realm those posters fell into. But in any case, he helped me pick out a suitable frame and glass. I picked a whitish, wood frame. Hitomi told me not to hang this sort of "disgusting" art outside of the bedroom, so that's where it will go.

In a few weeks whenever the backlog is cleared, I'll drive over to the store, assemble the art and glass in frame, put on backing paper, screws for wire hangers, etc.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About eliasross

Blogging before the word "blog" was invented.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

