100 miles of Tour de Cure

Nintendo this year is a sponsor of "Tour de Cure", which is a bicycle ride to "benefit the American Diabetes Association."

Ironically, not too many people at Nintendo ride bicycles and video game companies in general don't tend to attract athletic people. At least in the programming departments. Still, the ride was more about fund raising than bicycling, I guess. Hitomi and I happened to get in because we weren't required to raise the requisite hundreds of dollars ($500?) to ride the event. And as a bonus, I got a coveted "Nintendo jersey, or actually Hitomi didn't receive her Small so received a Large she gave to me.

I planned to do about 100 miles, even though I still haven't fully recovered. I did ride on Thursday and Friday, about 30 and 20 miles respectively. But my upper respiratory system's been fairly congested so maybe taking it easier would have been smart? Hitomi was obviously not so well, so she decided on 45 miles.

The route was hilly. Nearly 6000 feet of elevation gain, and thus a serious climb every 10 miles or so. I paced myself at around 18-20 miles per hour on the flats but had an increasingly difficult time at the end, thanks to the heat and reduced energy. I looked at disdain at my odometer.

I started the ride late and therefore no Nintendo BBQ party at the end for me, just leftover sandwiches. It felt like I was slow but there were not so many 100 milers who left when I did. Hitomi waited for me, obviously, as well as Chris, a co-worker who also did 45 miles. They had BBQ.

I did enjoy the route, which went through a lot of mossy trees and around lakes and had views of snowy mountains. No jerk drivers. The route was well planned and avoided most of the busy roads which seem to be always widening and gathering more traffic as development and population spreads eastward towards the Cascades. There's still plenty of farm country to enjoy. The stops had simple food and friendly local volunteers. (I would have liked it if they used coolers rather than bottles of water. Most of us use reusable bottles and bottled water isn't much tastier.) Other riders were friendly and rode safely, for the most part.

Hitomi might have a few pictures up later, and I'll update this post at that time.

Until then, it's off to eat dinner.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About eliasross

Blogging before the word "blog" was invented.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to 100 miles of Tour de Cure

  1. ochawan says:

    >Ironically, not too many people at Nintendo ride bicyclesThis is because Sales and Marketing teams are not in the Redmond office…

  2. Dancho says:

    [いいですね]

  3. genman says:

    There's always a bunch of amateur radio operators at bicycle events. (Probably a lot of them also at organized runs, triathlons, walks, etc.) Often motorcycle clubs volunteer to help out. Traffic cops also often direct traffic along the route. And there's traffic cops making sure cyclists wear their helmets and obey signals.At events like the STP (Seattle to Portland) there's always a lot of accidents, often in the first few miles of the ride. There's likely a few EMTs on standby as well. (I'm certain most racing events have EMTs on hand.)For some rides, mostly in Eastern Washington, there's no cell phone service, so amateur radio makes sense.

  4. Dancho says:

    Yeah, there are usually announcements for call for amateur radio ops in many events. Perhaps I'd get into some of that in future…Relative long range compared to different alternative (we can do up to 1.5kW, although I don't think most event would involve that type of output; mostly 5 to probably 100W), as well as capabilities involving use of repeater and different mode (such as position transmission) and such makes amateur radio flexible, and often efficient.

  5. I rode the 100 mile route for the 4th time, I really liked it. I had respiratory problems but got it repaired by a Biofeedback program.After my 2 hr drive from Abbotsford BC, I did from start to finish in 7hrs.20min. 1hr.10min faster than the last time. :)People where helpful, friendly, roads well marked, good food and lots of fluid.Well organized!Wilfried Braun' Abbotsford BC

Leave a Reply

