Missed Connections

I’m going to try to keep this short.

I’ve been feeling sick (cold from Leo) and with WWDC this week at Apple, under a bit of stress trying to keep things together. We took it easy (easier) yesterday by bicycling to Magnuson Park and have a picnic.

We happened to locate our site next to a Japanese couple, with a kid (about 2.5yo) and an infant. Hitomi talks to them and reveals our next child is going to be a boy. Which I can’t help be a little disappointed about. Not that I won’t love another boy, but this next child is probably our last and I won’t get to try raising a girl. I suppose it’s the finality of the situation rather than anything. Let’s hope they bring home nice looking girls (friends or otherwise.)

Today I got a call from “Uncle Phil”, coincidentally during a fairly rare conversation with my dad. My dad and (I guess Uncle) use my Yahoo! email address, which I stopped checking regularly about 6+ years ago. My Uncle’s in town for a rare appearance and I will probably miss him. He and Elinor have (share) a cell phone but 10 minutes after calling him back, he does not answer, and the announcement (probably put on by (honorary) Uncle Tom), suggested leaving a message but their voice mail is full.

Despite advances in technology, I still end up missing people quite a bit. Which is a shame, given their promise to bring people together, it just seems like more ways exist to miss people. Or, technology is still just about fighting people’s laziness: The more it advances, the more ‘last minute’ we are about communication. Anyway, I’m fairly disappointed not to see my Uncle, as I head off to California next week.

Today being fathers day I do have a couple of thoughts: It certainly pays to be close to your children, physically and emotionally. And I find that being a good father doesn’t necessarily make you a good husband. I kind of wished raising Leo right would win romance points with Hitomi. The scores do not carry over this way. Also, different cultures (*ahem*) have different expectations with what family means. The “American Way” (more of an ideal perhaps than reality) is to maintain the romantic(*) part of the relationship while balancing those concerns with raising the family. But those needs necessarily conflict, so I don’t suppose one can find a perfect balance?

What is ‘romance’ in the context of a family? In some ways it is childishness indulgence but what is the point of a family, if not indulgence? Perhaps children are the ultimate sacrifice by parents, but let’s pretend otherwise.

About eliasross

Blogging before the word "blog" was invented.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

